Rui Vitória has named a 21-man squad for Benfica's 2017/18 curtain raiser: the Supertaça Cândido de Oliveira.

Bruno Varela is expected to start with Júlio César unable to recover from a left leg injury. Andrija Zivković (right thigh), André Carrillo (right knee), André Horta (left knee) and Kostas Mitroglou (left thigh) are also unavailable. Filip Krovinović is still rebuilding his fitness after hernia surgery.

Vitória has included just six defenders in his preliminary squad, dropping Pereira, Buta, Dias, Kalaica and Hermes. Andreas Samaris is serving the first of a four-match suspension.

Saturday's game at the Estádio Municipal de Aveiro kicks off at 20:45 local time, and will be officiated by Artur Soares Dias.

Goalkeepers: Paulo Lopes and Bruno Varela

Defenders: Lisandro, Grimaldo, Luisão, André Almeida, Jardel and Eliseu

Midfielders: Fejsa, Filipe Augusto, Salvio, Pizzi, Cervi, Willock, Chrien, Diogo Gonçalves, Rafa Silva and João Carvalho

Forwards: Raúl, Jonas and Seferović